Today many children spend a lot of time playing computer games and little time on sports. Why is it? Is it a positive or negative development?

Urbanization has taken over this 20th century in every field i. e. in technology, farming etc. This has majorly affected our family’s lifestyle specially our children who are adolescent or are about to become one. As technology has taken over the world, we see many children spend a lot of time playing computer games and little time on sports. Primary reason of this change in lifestyle can be attributed to the advancement of technology. With technology touching every sphere of our lifestyle, the major impact can be seen on children. Educational system has become digitalis and so as their entertainment sources. While in 90’s and era become this student would spend most of their time in playing ground, today’s generation prefer playing games on computers. As playing on computers is not restricted to any time of the day and require less resources. Second reason is the effect of urbanization on the environment. With the deforestation and the emission of CFC are at peak this had the worse effect on the climatic conditions. The temperature rise in summers is increasing every year along with the length of the summer season. These changes make it impossible for the children to play in ground in the hot and humid conditions everyday which has led to further enhance their interest towards computer games. I term it as negative development as the children are becoming couch potatoes and the percentage of children suffering from obesity is increasing at a much faster rate. Along with obesity there are health problems associated with it the is high risk of developing heart disease and many other ailments. Also, children fail to develop interpersonal communication skills and stronger bonds with their peer groups as their interaction with them is limited to only school. But scientific studies have show that children who play video games better adapt to the difficult or problematic situations as compared to once who don’t play as the games makes them encounter situations which they have not yet encounter and in order to save them or win they should find solutions to them. Students also have higher resilience as failures doesn’t stop them from trying gain next time till the time the mission has been accomplished. Therefor, the arguments about whether computer games have positive or negative effect is always controversial as every change in the society has pros and cons associated with it. It’s the perception of people towards them that decide the final result.