Today, large shopping centres and shopping malls are common than small shops. Is this a positive or a negative trend?

Having a number of marts and markets has become usual these days, due to the modernisation. Although this trend will be fruitful up to some extent, it ultimately will invite several demerits that can be faced by the societies. To commence with, there are two prime benefits of of introducing large established malls. To explain, with the inauguration of plazas and marts, joblessness can no longer be a devastating problematic issue as people will obtain jobs especially who are reeling under the poverty, they can work in these sorts of places as salesperson and safety guards. To quote an example, a survey was conducted by the United State’s Census Bureau on people aged around 25-50, 50% of them revealed that they are not only being paid lucratively, also well known by working in commercial industries as designers or security guards. Secondly, the availability of various products. In brief, unlike local shops or street markets, arcades provide a plethora of essential goods under one roof and make it easier to shop instead of going one shop to another in search of a particular product. Moreover, majority of shopping galleries focus on both quality and quantity. Though some items are expensive, are long-lasting and value the money as these are best in quality. On the contrary, installation of malls can bring several negative outcomes to the small shops. First and foremost is the monopoly. To elucidate, the extinction of local shops may occur since big supermarkets and plazas take control over the cities and become people’s first choice of shopping. Resultantly, the popularity of small shops will decline and and loose their place. For example, Britain witnessed monopoly for selling razor blades in 1999. Another demeritorious factor can be extravagance. In general, because of best quality and durability of products, arcades offer a fixed price of material, thus bargaining is unacceptable for middle-class people who generally survive according to their budget. Sometimes, either their children pester to do shopping from plazas or it is their own desire to buy lavish items. This directly cuts-off shopping at cheaper price. In conclusion, availability of malls offers serve benefits to the society as providing lucrative job opportunities as well as variety of things. It’s destructive side, however, cannot be overlooked since it is posing a threat to local businesses.