Stress related illnesses are becoming more common. What are the causes and the solutions for this.

In the present day, stress-related illnesses have escalated significantly. This essay will discuss the main reasons for the rise in this suffering such as longer working hours and increasing job pressures. It will also elaborate on the solutions to these problems. The main cause of stress-related illnesses is the increase in working hours. More and more people are working overtime in order to complete their tasks. As most of the work is being done on computers, there is a rise in screen time which in turn leads to headaches and a decrease in visual acuity. In other words, where as 20 years ago, the average working hours were 8 per day, now it is more like 9 to 10 hours per day. Second factor that is associated with rising mental illnesses is the long commute areas. After working hard in the office we would like to find transport easy and convenient. This does not happen. Running after a bus or a train, taking a cab adds to the inconvenience. Many people travel for more than one hour to reach their workplace. The driving can be hectic due to high traffic and some unlawful individuals on the streets. When it comes to solutions, things are easier said than done. To begin with, the working hours must be reduced. The employee should be allowed to chose if they wish to stay in the office snd work or work from home. As there will be no traveling, it will save the individual plenty of time. Linning up on the motorway and honking etc can all be avoided. The other solution will be to decrease the working hours by allowing them to take a longer lunch break. During that time they can engage in different activities which have a good social and physical impact. Joining a gym and taking time to go there during lunchtime or sitting with a friend for coffee are additional measures that can be taken. In conclusion, many people would cooperate if certain measures were taken to decrease the working hours and also to limit the amount of travel needed for the day. This will show a positive result on the mental well-being of an individual.