Today, international traveling is more popular than before. Many people think it is bad for the society.

Nowadays, international traveling has been considered as the first option for leisure. Many people think this trend should be limited, because of associated social problems. Personally, this view is partly proper, while it overlooks the values of global tourism. Possible reasons would be explored as below. Firstly, there are many reasons why cross-border trips should be encouraged, the main one is that it contributes much to the international relationship. In fact, it is an ideal way to build up cross-culture understanding among people. For example, by closely communicating with local residents, visiting museums and art galleries, or experiencing social rules and religious rituals, foreigners can deeply learn the cultural diversity. That is to say, these citizens will be flexible, tolerant, and adaptable enough to keep their countries from conflicts or wars against others caused by culture shock. In addition, international tourism has a purpose to improve the local economy. Generally, if millions of foreign travelers come to the local place for eating, living, shopping and entertainment, the whole domestic economic consumption will be enhanced substantially. In a long term, these activities provide not only extra tax revenue to the government, but also countless job openings in restaurants, hotels, malls and even theme parks, to a large extent. However, the most worrying aspect of international traveling has much to do with its detrimental effects on the environment. For instance, transferring people abroad necessarily depends on oil-burning vehicles, such as buses, ships and airplanes, all of which are the sources of waste gas emission. Consequently, an explosive global transportation places the earth in multi-dimension pollutions, from the air to the land, even to oceans. What is worse, it is common that streets/avenues and parks in tour cities are filled with all kinds of garbage, like plastic bags, paper cups and batteries, because foreign visitors just throw them away carelessly. All in all, global traveling is a good thing. Although it might risk the environment, its efforts on the development of country-to-country friendship as well as boosting local economy, should never be ignored.