Today digital technology allows people to share all aspects of their lives on social media. Is this positive or negative development?

The advancement in digital technology has reached a point where it now can afford the people the opportunity to share their personal lives with others. On the face of it, this may appear to be negative trend, given the risks involved with privacy. However, I tend to think that it is a positive development for several reasons. It is a widespread belief that people put their privacy at risk by posting personal information on their social media profiles. This is mainly because the information shared on the internet is accessible for social media companies. Everything from our geo-location to intimate relationships is collected, analyzed and processed by social media platforms. These companies can, in effect, sell this information to their affiliates and partners. By just posting as simple as the pictures of our newborn child or the fitness club we attend, we reveal too much about ourselves, thus becoming targets for certain companies. On the bright side, to be able to share every aspect of our lives on social media networks may bring about positive effects in our life. Firstly, we can connect with the people whom we have not got in touch for long. We can get to know what is going on with those people even without directly communicating. Secondly, it improves our mental health. Since every time we get likes and positive comments for our posts, the responsible part of the brain releases endorphins which are known as feel-good chemicals. Finally, the groups formed on social media websites bring people of similar experiences together and help them in some ways. For example, one who is going through some difficulties can easily find some to talk and, as a result, feel less stressed. Although posting everything related to our personal lives on social media compromises our privacy, I believe that we reap a lot of benefits by doing so.