To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Most people are aware that they need to take some responsibility for their health by eating sensibly and taking regular exercise, and many succeed in doing this. The reasons why others fail can be complex and do not necessarily mean they rely on the medical profession to keep them healthy. The main reasons people give for being less healthy than others are often economic. People who fail to eat sensibly argue that they do not have the time or the money to cook nutritious meals. Being busy and working long hours affect people’s willingness to give up time to go to the gym or join a sports club. These may seem valid excuses, but ultimately they can lead to a sedentary lifestyle. These days, research has shown that there is a direct link between inactivity and illness. Eating large quantities of fat, for instance, can result in weight gain, which can lead to high blood pressure or arthritis; heart-related problems are common among people who live stressful, inactive lives. Eventually, people may end up requiring prescription drugs and hospital appointments in order to treat their conditions. It is often only after this has happened that people decide to change their diet and start exercising, usually on the advice of their doctor. Clearly, if they had always had a healthy lifestyle, they would not have needed medical treatment. However, once they do become ill, most people take steps to redress the situation as best they can. In summary, most people try, with varying degrees of success, to live a healthy lifestyle, even if they take some time to realize how important this is. Only a small proportion of the population are unable to change, and thus rely on doctors.