to what extent do you agree or disagree

Governments should not fund the arts according to some people, because they think that the money allocated on the arts could be used in some areas that would be better. In my opinion, if there is no arts in any country, people do not live fully. So, governments should encourage artists to prevent extinction of art, as the arts is the culture of a country. On the one hand, governments should support artists to enrich their culture. If artists produce more work of art, they contribute to society and in this way to the culture. For example, the whole world knows Shakespeare and his artworks. He is the part of British culture. So, if he did not get any fundings, we do not know anything about him and British culture would be missing. Another example, Norway has a fundings for young artists. If someone decide to write a book, the government pay for them to write, and libraries have to buy their books. These fundings show that the more government encourage the artists, the more the arts are improved. On the other hand, some countries do not support their own artists to produce anything. They let corporates do the any kinds of fundings. In this way, many talented artists are wasted, because corporates pay them if only they follow the strict rules. For example, some corporates are afraid of the government in Turkey, which have a dictator, so, they do not want to fund any artist who is opposite of the government. Therefore, many talented opponent artists do not get any money from them, and from the government. This situation cause the cultural corruption. In conclusion, the governments should support their artists to keep the culture alive and enrich their countries' values. As we see the examples, if they encourage their people to produce work of art, they have more national values.