To be labelled a ‘work of art’, a painting, sculpture or other art forms should display certain qualities that are unique. However, over the past century, there has been a decline in the quality of prize-winning artwork and it is now possible for quite ordinary pieces of art to be labelled ‘masterpiece’ whilst true works of art pass unnoticed.

There has been a change in the expectation of every possible creature living on the Earth. Amongst them, there is also the presence of the lovers of Art. Since the past ten decades, there has been a shift in the preferences of the lovers of Art. It may, however, be also a possibility that there is a dearth of ‘True Lovers’ of the art in the current era. Whatever may be the case, it is the art which is always at the receiving end and has, to a large extent, lost its renowned charm. A work of art is a masterpiece which gets conceived in the mind of an intellectual who ultimately gives birth to it on a canvas. For an artist, his/her arts are dearer than the fine opals, more precious than the Emeralds! However, from amongst numerous such pieces of artworks, there are very few, lucky pieces, which outshines/eclipses other artworks due to their sheer uniqueness, adorability, attractiveness and eye-catching features, to name a few.   In the yesteryears, there used to be a very negligible number of such masterpieces. With the wind of the change, which engulfed the whole society including the intellectuals and their subjects, there has been a tremendous shifting of expectations, preferences, requirements and ‘true love’ towards the work of art. It is due to this change which has happened due to more materialistic needs that the population of art lovers and the quality of artworks has greatly declined. The direct, and unfortunate, effect of such a change has influenced the quality of artworks negatively.   Due to the paucity of art lovers and their genuine and matured followers, it has become a possibility for even a substandard piece of art to be categorised as a ‘masterpiece’, whereas the true works of arts remain a mute spectator. In a recent article published in the ‘Art and Culture’ section of a leading fortnight magazine, there has been a full article dedicated in memory of the maestro of artworks, the Late Mr. ABC. It was unfortunate to learn that the maestro had to spend his last few years in misery. This in spite of the fact, that the said maestro was a well-known international figure in the era of 1950s in the field of arts, particularly the painting. It can safely and with relevant evidence concluded that the kind of intellectual pieces in respect of arts which are labelled as masterpieces in the current era stands nowhere in comparison and contrast to the real masterpieces of art which were produced over the past hundred years.