Throughout education, boys often play sports for longer and more often than girls. Why do you think this is? Do you think this should be changed?

During student life, mostly boys play sports for longer duration as compared to the girls. Throughout this essay, I will explore the reasons why do boys often get more opportunities for sports as compared to the girls and if it could be considered a positive thing. Firstly, I will consider why this is a noticeable trend in many educational establishments. Secondly, I will discuss if this could be changed in the future. To begin with, there are plethora of reasons why do boys get more time to play as compared to the girls in educational institutions. In my opinion, there are many sport teams available for boys as compared to the girls or girls are less encouraged to play because of the social stigma. For example, in schools girls are only pushed to play some limited games like badminton, whereas boys have plenty of options to play like cricket, football, and many more. Furthermore, girls are also forced by their parents to opt for traditional gender based subjects like science and arts. Consequently, it prevents girls from taking part in extracurricular activities leading to loss of interest in sports. Equal opportunities should be given to everyone irrespective of their gender. In my opinion, there are many girls who would love to play more sports from young age but found it difficult to join sports team of their choice and desire. For this reason girls are left with little choices but to continue studies in more traditional academic subjects. Another point to add is that sports are excellent for our health and well-being. Girls and boys both can benefit from regular exercise as well as gaining social skills and teamwork. In conclusion, boys are seems to have given many more opportunities as compared to girls in sports, but girls should also have the equal opportunities.