These days, there is a growing trend of people migrating to well-developed cities in order to seek job opportunities and earn a decent living. While this seems a wise choice from the economic point of view, it is believed by some that city life is seriously detrimental to people’s state

These days, there is a growing trend of people migrating to well-developed cities in order to seek job opportunities and earn a decent living. While this seems a wise choice from the economic point of view, it is believed by some that city life is seriously detrimental to people’s state of health. In my opinion, I completely agree with this statement for two particular reasons. First of all, economic development at the expense of the environment in metropolitans does great harm to urbanites’ physical health. To be specific, many chemical factories and industrial plants, because of being driven by profit, dispose of a large amount of untreated waste into urban areas, and it is the city dwellers that have to suffer in the long run. Such long–term exposure to toxic substances can gradually make urbanites develop life-threatening diseases such as cancer. Equally important though, the bumper-to-bumper traffic in densely populated cities might destroy urban inhabitants’ well-being. Usually, city residents are more likely to experience sleep deprivation than those in rural areas due to the incessant roar of heavy traffic. This lack of sleep can lead to stress, anxiety disorder, or even depression. Furthermore, urban citizens have to face the risk of getting their respiratory system damaged. This is attributed to a substantial vehicle emission here. Hence, people residing in large cities tend to contract respiratory diseases like asthma, pneumonia, and lung cancer. In conclusion, I am convinced that living in economically productive cities has many negative impacts on people’s health, which one should consider carefully. What is needed the most now is that governments and interested parties should implement appropriate policies to make city life more healthy for their citizens.