These days, people are living into their 90’s and beyond. As a result, there is increasing concern about care for the elderly. Do you think it is the responsibility of the family to care for their elderly members or should the government be held responsible?

Nowadays, elderly people lives in their 90’s and beyond and taking care of them is major issue. In this case, family members have the major role to look after them instead of the government. First of all, family members are the closest person of the elderly people. Old people wants to stay with their family due to the mental satisfaction. They think that no-one in this earth look after them as family members do. They have some personal requirement that can only be fulfill by their own people. During their old age, if they live outside their home that will reduce their keen to live as well as fall in depression. For example, in our country there are few old age home where old citizen lives and the common problem of that old age home is that they do not want to live any more without their relatives. Secondly, Government may take the responsibility to look after them but it also reduce their life expectancy. Government do not have the capability to take care of them individually whereas a family can do. When an old citizen lives with his family can fulfill his daily basic needs including his personal requirements but in case of living in government owned old home its not possible. For example, state owned old home only provide the daily basic needs that include meals, cloths and accommodation and do not focus on personal needs. In conclusion, elder people needs individual care for their survival and that can be provided by the family not by the government.