These days many of us prefer to throw damaged things away, whereas in the past people used to repair damaged items and keep them for a long time. Explain why you think this change has happened. What are the effects of this change in attitude?

People are becoming increasingly wasteful, In recent times the concept of mending broken or torn items is becoming extinct as people prefer to discard them, this essay will discuss why there is a change in the mindset of people and the consequences of this decision. This generation is obsessed with trends and aesthetics that allows them to constantly want to keep up with whatever is in vogue, one of the main reason for this, is because human beings are naturally insatiable, the need for more and our constant craving for the next best thing is a major factor in the wastefulness that has plagued the society today. For example, a perfectly working phone will undoubtedly be replaced by a newer model once the phone company produces a new one, most apple users change their devices irrespective of social status when a new one is released in the market, the effect of this in the long run is that we create a society of people who are never satisfied. This change has created a damaging effect on our environment, in recent times there has been an increase in waste because purchase of products has increased at an alarming rate and discarding the older commodities inappropriately, most people do not have sufficient knowledge on waste disposal that is not harmful to the environment, for example recycling is not practiced in most homes bottles, clothes, books and other household items that are outdated are all thrown in to the garbage can and oftentimes find their way into the ocean due to careless disposal thereby harming the habitats of the sea. In conclusion, people have a compulsive need to replace old items with new ones unnecessarily, as a result of this change we damage the environment due to excess waste and also encourage gluttony in the society.