It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Generally speaking, facts are usually easier to learn compared to understanding ideas and concepts and as a result many students prefer to learn facts. But is that a correct approach? In my opinion understanding ideas and concepts are far more important. In this essay, I will support my opinion with examples. Let’s begin by discussing the reasons people take 12 years of school and 4 years of college afterward. People suffer themselves by studying and doing homework all those sweet years, mainly because they want to find an appropriate job in the future. But I believe that by learning facts they can not achieve that goal. For example, my friend Reza got a bachelor’s degree in mechanical engineering mainly by memorizing facts. Someday he was asked to design a spring for the engine of a car and he put some data in the formula and came up with a 2-meter spring and got fired. His manager told him that he didn’t understand the concept at all, how could we put a 2-meter spring inside an engine. Secondly, in order to advance science and solve new problems, one should have realized how previous facts have been developed. We can’t expect a student who just memorized some facts without understanding the concepts behind them to be able to expand facts. For example, I was able to use mathematics formulas but most of the time I had no clue where those formulas came from. I mean I couldn’t reach those formulas by myself and as a result, I was never good at difficult problems which needed to be solved with new ideas. Learning facts are just enough to solve well-known problems. All things considered, understanding ideas and concepts are far more important as it helps us in the corporate world and to advance science. Students out there, please stop memorizing facts and concentrate on ideas and concepts.