It is right that university graduates earn more money than less well-educated people and for this reason some people believe university students should pay the full cost of their education. Others, however argue that higher education should be provide for free by the government.

Many people hold the view that university education should be free to everyone regardless of their background; however, others think that students attending university should take responsibility for the tuition fee because of the higher salary they can have after obtaining a university degree. From my point of view, I agree with the latter view and this essay will provide the reasonings for both views. On the one hand, it is easy to understand why some people think the government should provide free tertiary education. First, since parents will be encouraged to send their children to school. In fact, without concerning about the fee, more and more students will have a chance to study at university after graduating from the high school to get higher education and skills which will be essential in later life. Second, without paying any cost, students will concentrate on studying and extracurricular activities. Clearly, instead of exhausting themselves with part-time jobs to cover both tuition fees and living costs, they have more time for studying, playing sports, volunteering or pursuing an internship. On the other hand, I must side with those who think students and parents should take responsibility for their tuition fees when studying at university. First, providing free university education might push the government to the verge of bankruptcy. Besides education, the government budget is used to invest in technology, transportation, infrastructure and health care. With the growth of the number of students studying tuition-free, there will not be enough money for other services which are also essential to residents. Furthermore, the quality of education will be better with the financial support from students and their parents. Students will have an effective studying environment with well-equipped facilities and well-qualified teachers. If students are accountable for their tuition fees, they will value more the lessons, have a deep understanding and put what they learn into practice effectively. In conclusion, while attending university without fee helps students with financial problems, I feel it brings about more benefits to society and students themselves when they pay the full cost for their education.