Schools are spending more time teaching traditional subjects such as history. Some people think that they should rather spend more time in teaching skills that can help students find a job.

Traditional subjects, for instance history, are been majorly focused when teaching in schools; however, it is thought by some to give more attention on building student’s skill sets. Although, I agree that learning particular skills in early age will be beneficial to individuals but, I believe that having knowledge about ancient times is considerably important. To begin with, learning history in schools can be accounted crucial and advantageous for children. Firstly, they would know all about the culture and tradition, its origin, and how and why it is followed. This will give an understanding to children about how things were different in the past. Secondly, studying history will actually make them acknowledge how we as humans have evolved in time. For instance, not only the physical things, such as, homes, streets and living style of people has made progress but their thinking is also more liberal, one clear example is caste and colour discrimination. Regarding educating school children with skills seems to be a concerning factor, as these things will aid them land into a job which will further help them to build a better and successful future. If these things are made them learn in early stage, it will be used to explore their capabilities and will give a clear path for their career. In other words, to see oneself in corporate world one must be well acquainted with proper expertise in certain area which will eventually make them earn figures to have what they dreamt of. In conclusion, admittedly history has its importance in education, but it does not equally and specifically help people get job as much as skills do. Schools should do more to try and introduce tutorials for developing skills in order to make children ready to step into corporate life.