These days, in many countries, fewer and fewer people want to become teachers, particularly in secondary schools. What are the reasons for this, and how could the problem be solved?

These days fewer people are drawn to becoming high school teachers in many parts of the world. Many reasons contribute to this trend and low wages for teachers and teenage disciplinary problems are most significant among them. However, some solutions can be implemented to encourage talented youth to pursue the teaching profession including better remuneration and reasonable workloads, for example. The interest in becoming secondary level school teachers is declining and young people are taking more interests in becoming engineers, pilots, IT professionals and doctors. Studies show that teachers are not well paid and their salaries are far less than other professionals like bankers or pilots. Moreover, in many countries, being a high school teacher is not a prestigious career and this social dogma deter talented individuals to become teachers. In addition, according to disciplinary studied, high school going pupils' behaviours is another reason many teachers do not feel like being in the right profession. Parental focus on their children has reduced and consequently, it has created a whole new generation who misbehave in schools. Some initiatives may encourage the future generation to go into the teaching profession. First, increasing the salaries and benefits for the teachers would be a great step. It would encourage young students to ponder about becoming a teacher. Furthermore, to reduce the teachers' workloads, schools should employ assistants to help the tutors. Lastly, school authority should get involved in maintaining a better teaching environment and implement corporal punishment for misbehaving pupils. To conclude, the passion to become teachers, especially at the secondary level, is declining. Nevertheless, proper solutions are there to address these problems to encourage more talented individuals to come in the teaching profession and help build the nation.