These days, in many countries, fewer and fewer people want to become teachers, particularly in secondary schools. What are the reasons for this, and how could problem be solved?

A generation ago, teaching in a high school was considered an extremely well-respected and popular job, and in many countries, this is still true. However, in many parts of the world, there has been a sharp drop in the number of young people who want to become high-school teachers. This essay will look at the reasons for this and propose some solutions. One of the main causes of the problem is that teachers' salaries are lower than many other jobs. Teachers' pay has not kept pace with other professions, such as law or medicine. In India, for example, a doctor with five years' experience will earn far more than a teacher with the same experience. The solution is for the government to raise the teachers' pay significantly, which would attract more people into the profession. Another problem is that many children do not behave well in class. That is to say, teachers often have to deal with pupils who disobey them, which often causes them to give up teaching. This tends to put off potential teachers as well. To tackle this issue, parents must give their children a sense of respect for teachers, in order to make children behave better in class. To sum up, teaching has become a much less popular job in many countries, due to the reasons such as salary and pupils' behavior. This is a serious problem, and unless we can get more talented young people to become teachers, the education of our children will suffer. My view is that the main responsibility for solving the problem lies with the parents and governments.