In the future many people will choose to go on holiday in their own country and not travel abroad on holiday.

The concept of spending one’s leisure time is gradually changing nowadays. It is thought by some that in years to come, many people will choose to spend their holiday in their home country instead of traveling to oversea countries. This essay disagrees with this assertion, as would be exhaustively discussed further. Firstly, many people travel to have a different knowledge from the one they already had. Traveling to other parts of their country may not afford them this opportunity, as they can gain this knowledge from either visiting their home page or ask a friend living there. By traveling abroad, people gain knowledge of their culture and way of life. A good illustration of this, is this recent publication by the Nigerian Aviation Ministry, that in 2019, many Americans visited Nigeria to have an in-depth understanding of the Yoruba culture. Furthermore, many people will still choose to travel abroad because of the perceived social class that comes with it. For many, to be able to fly to other parts of the world is a kind of social strata for them and they would rather spend their money this way, rather than travel to another part of their country. For example, entertainers and celebrities in Nigeria travel to western countries, like America, to prove to their fans and fellow celebrities that have the means to. The various travels during the lockdown period witnessed by them attests to this fact. In conclusion, people will still prefer to travel outside of their native countries because of the knowledge and experience that can be gained and also because of the social class that comes with it. However, adequate preparation is needed for holiday travels, either by traveling abroad or within the same country.