Some people argue that holding sporting events is beneficial to a country's development. However, other people hold the opposite opinion.

Sports play a vital role in the country's development and it helps in maintaining physical strength. Holding sports events in our country has some advantages though many people do not support this. There is a split opinion regarding this argument. Prior to my opinion, both views are discussed in these ensuring paragraphs. Firstly, Sports are played across the world and they unintentionally help in building relationships between two countries. Some sports like cricket and football unite the players and audiences at the stadium and makes a better bond internally. Furthermore, if sports are held in the country then it is beneficial for the players as it motivates them to work hard with determination so they could represent their country globally. Besides this, it also attracts tourists from all over the world to spectate the thriller game being played in the country. However, there are some disadvantages too as the sports equipment are very expensive nowadays and they are not affordable to many players. Moreover, many people feel that this is a waste of money and this money can be utilized to solve other major problems of the people. Even though sports events are held in the country but it can turn into a disappointment in front of other countries if the event is not well organized and its reputation is affected internationally. For instance, London was the host of Olympics 2014 and we read in the media that the arrangements were not up to the standards. In such cases, rather than gaining, the country is losing its reputation. To recapitulate, though sports equipments are expensive, events should be held as it encourages the players to work hard and play better for the country and it could also build good relationships with other countries that could be helpful in the near future. However, the host should also be able to meet the standards and should be able to fund the event without affecting the budget of the basic needs of its population.