There seems to be an increasing trend towards assessing students through exams rather than through continual assessment. what are the advantages and disadvantages of exams as a form of assessment?

In recent years, using exams as a form of assessment has risen in popularity than utilizing continual assessment. Although this form of assessment has merits such as providing little room for cheating and conducting in a timely basis, there are demerits such as putting students under pressure and narrowing range of questions. In this essay, both the positives and negatives of this form of assessment will be discussed thoroughly. On the one hand, one of the crucial advantages is that provides little room of cheating because exams are conducted in the presence of an invigilator. The result is that students are treated fairly, and all students who attend the exam have taken their scores based on an objective criterion. Nevertheless, depending on continual assessment has increased the risk of plagiarism; moreover, it rises the chances of subjectivity. Thus, it is important to take into consideration the distribution of exam scores based on the objectives of the course. On the other hand, one of the significant disadvantages is putting students under pressure. The reason is that exams are provided via strict rules; thus, most of students even the intelligent ones do not able to perform in those situations. Additionally, another main advantage is the limited numbers of questions which were covered through exams rather than the alternative, based on an article that has been published in Cairo University International Journal. Therefore, the examiner should utilize a variety of questions, and the environment of the exams should be taken into consideration. In conclusion, although little window for cheating and time efficiency are the advantages of this form of assessment, it is essential to tackle the negatives such as the pressure which was put on the students and the narrow range of questions. Hence, it is important to find ways to turn those negatives into positives.