There seems to be an increasing trend towards assessing students through exams rather than through continual assessment. what are the advantages and disadvantages of exams as a form of assessment?

Nowadays the approach of using exams to assess students has risen in popularity over the alternative of continual assessment. This essay will highlight both the benefits and the drawbacks of such an approach. Firstly, having exams can help students improve their attitude towards school works. For instance, if students are judged by exams, they are more likely to take school work as an serious issue. It is shown in a report that generally students put more effort on theses exam subjects and even perform better when exams are approaching. Secondly, examination is a relevant method to show how students have absorbed the knowledge that had been taught. This helps teachers getting vivid feedbacks directly from candidate's exam results, thus they can alter their teaching plan, find out better ways delivering the knowledge to the students. disadvantages: However there are some disadvantages if exams are held too frequently. It can be extremely stressful for both students and the school faculty. As for students, in order to get a higher score, many of them take additional courses. They have a strong feeling that their relationships with their peers are awfully competitive. No matter how students perform, If they take the view that exam grades is the only way to show one's value, this opinion will badly influence their mental health. when it comes to teachers, there is a high possibility for them to have unfair attitude towards different students, because they may link student's academic performance with the individual.