There seems to be an increasing trend towards assessing students through exams rather than continuous assessment. What are the advantages and disadvantages of exams as a form of assessment?

The opinion in favor of assessing students through examinations is increasing instead of preferring continuous assessment. There are a lot of advantages and disadvantages to examinations as an evaluation method. Primarily, examinations help assess the academic capacity of a large number of children. It makes the evaluation criterion easier for those who assess the students, providing a common platform and a method of evaluation for students of all backgrounds to showcase their academic talents. For example, entrance examinations are utilized globally to select deserving candidates. Also, it helps students to gain knowledge in a variety of subjects. Secondly, exams help students to gain periodic reviews regarding their performances and aid them in improving their performances and knowledge in tandem. Lastly, it also helps prepare a student for a performance-oriented world. There are disadvantages to examinations. One of the principal arguments put forth by the detractors of exams is that it makes students extremely result-oriented, leading them to not gain knowledge out of interest but for scoring marks in the exam. Secondly, preparations for exams are one of the chief reasons for stress-related illnesses among children and teenagers. Furthermore, it is a common perception that children tend to prioritize marks and prepare for exams rather than study for improving their knowledge. The most common example is memorizing answers for producing a result. Lastly, exams are not a good indicator of a student's abilities, even academically as it does not provide a window to assess the depth of knowledge adequately nor showcase other academic skills. To conclude, exams are advantageous for assessing students en masse. However, it does have its pitfalls since a uniform system does not suit people from different backgrounds. Therefore, exams are not completely effective to be a uniform mode of assessment.