Some people spend a lot of money on weddings. Why do they do this? Do you think it is good to spend a lot of money on weddings?

These days, it has become a fashion for a number of people to pour an enormous amount of money into the wedding ceremonies. This essay discusses why they tend to do so and reasons why I strongly disagree in spending lavishly on such functions. Wanting the special occasion to be grand as well as remembered and the intention of showing off the wealth to the society are perhaps two major purposes for the unacceptable expenditures. The young couples, nowadays, often get overwhelmed with the marriage preparation and they want their special day to be glorious and cherished for a long time. Henceforth, they decide to purchase much expensive clothes and ornaments to keep themselves bright, and also appealing. In addition, the wealthy parents, in particular ought to show off their richness to the society. For example, in traditional countries like India, weddings go on for several days like festivals with thousands of guest being invited to bless the bride and the groom. This way, an ample amount of money is unnecessarily being spent of weddings. Even though weddings are notable events, I strongly believe spending a huge amount of money on them is needless. Hosting a grand event involves wasting of number of resources such as, man-power and electicity. Also, in these mordern days, people add more fancy foods which costs more in the wedding dinner and a large quantity of them get wasted and thrown in the garbage. This extra food can serve the poor. So it is better for the people to not waste their wealth in such events and rather invest them usefully. To conclude, many people are lured to spend too much money on wedding functions. However, for the betterment of themselves and the society they should intend to save the money otherwise put them in good investments.