There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work.

Young adults are stressed on achieving academic goal successfully in modern society. Consequently, it is commonly argued that the school schedule should set to remove non-academic subjects like physical education and cookery, and focus on academic subjects. I agree that non-academic subjects might have a positive impact on students to some degree. However, it is much more important for children to study the subjects related to their future career plans. Many people suggest that it is beneficial for human to exercise regularly to keep healthy and fit, so it is a smart idea to fit the physical education courses in students' schedule. Children can have opportunities to unwind during weekdays, and learn correct rules and postures of various sports. On the other hand, spending time to do sports in class is not necessary for every child. Students can join sport clubs that they are interested in, and practice after school. If the non-academic subjects were withdrawn and the time was saved, academic work could be inserted to school syllabus. Students can spend plenty of time on the subjects they need to concentrate, and to obtain a better result from the courses. Furthermore, every student may have different interests and plans for their future. The more time spent on a subject, the more likely they can gain solid knowledge from the lessons. Learning each topics in depth could be beneficial for exams, and students can enter a high-ranked institution for research and can be employed by large companies to make lucrative incomes after graduating. In conclusion, the merits of focusing on academic courses offsets the drawbacks entailed by that. Children should use their time in school more efficiently as it will help them to succeed academically.