Supermarkets should only sell food produced from within their own country rather than imports from overseas.

It is generally believed that if supermarkets sell only food that is produced by their country, instead of food shipped from overseas, it will greatly benefit the economy of the country. From my perspective, the idea to sell only what you produce in the country is undeveloped, the reason being a lot of the agriculture that is being sold in the supermarkets are imported from other countries. The reason being is that in some regions of the world it's impossible to grow certain fruits and vegetables. If the shops sold only what is produced by the local farmers, it would limit the variety of a huge part of the goods. Subsequently, in case that the supermarkets offer only local food, many countries will suffer extreme financial fall, due to the fact that their economy is focused on exportation more than on production. The financial system of many countries is very fragile, even the tiniest change in income can ruin the whole chain. In conclusion, I personally thing it wouldn't be beneficial to most of the countries to sell the food they produce. It can lead to economical damage or even worst. Another problem is the lowered variety of foods offered in the markets and other places.