Information technology enables many people to do their work outside their workplace (e. g. at home, when travelling, etc. ). Do the benefits of this mobility outweigh the disadvantages?

Some say that information technology brings us a lot of benefits, especially for people who are working in a modern workplace. It allows them to work anywhere and anytime. However, it could be argued that this mobility also has some negative effects on our lives. In this essay, I will discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of teleworking. First of all, it is clear that remote working provides many benefits. For one thing, people can access their work whenever and wherever they need to. This means that when they are asked to submit their assignment urgently while they are not at the office, they can simply use their device such as a mobile phone to access and send their work immediately. Moreover, it helps employees manage their time effectively because they can work at home and do not have to spend too much time on commuting. Lastly, people can vary their workplace which could prevent boredom and make people feel more active. On the other hand, there are many negative aspects of this. Firstly, it can cause some health problems. To illustrate, people might sit in front of a computer all day and do not take regular exercise. This could lead to a sedentary lifestyle which is one of the main causes of other health problems such as weight gain. What is more, it is can be hard to concentrate on work because there are a lot of distractions at home (e. g. TV, bed, food, pets) when we are working. Furthermore, people may struggle to maintain a good work-life balance since they could be asked to work anytime even if it is not a working day. In conclusion, it is obvious that teleworking enables people to work more easily than in the past. Having said that, there are also many drawbacks of using this kind of technology. From my point of view, whether the technology could bring us benefits or drawbacks, it depends on how we use it.