In some countries, an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. with this opinion?

With today’s busy life, a large number of people choose fast food instead of cooking it themselves to save time, however, it has a serious impact on health, especially causing diseases like obesity. According to some people, it is important to impose a high tax on junk food to discourage people from eating such foods. I partly agree with this solution, which will be outlined in this essay. On the one hand, there are several reasons why the government should levy high taxes on this kind of food. Firstly, it is very difficult for people to control themselves from temptations, especially when it is both cheap and convenient, so government involvement is essential. Besides, the taxation of fast food may hinder the spending of this items. For instant, low-income people need careful consideration to make a decision whether to buy or not, which will reduce the consumption of junk food. On the other hand, taxation can reduce spending, but only for low-income people, it does not affect the rich. The reason for this is that the well-off people do not choose fast food because it is cheap, but above all, it is convenient and saves time. Therefore, some of the solutions that the government can offer is to raise awareness of the public about the harmful effects of processed foods as well as the benefits of forming a healthy eating habit. In addition, the government can also reduce the fee for healthy food to encourage people to buy more. In conclusion, to minimize fast food consumption and limit its harmful effects, the government should focus on educating people on a healthy diet instead of simply imposing high taxes.