There are tens of new means of communication based on recent technological innovations that make us able to be more socially active.

There are tens of new means of communication based on recent technological innovations that make us able to be more socially active. Some would say that technologies like internet has resulted in easier telecommunication, and so we have more socialized society. Others, which I’m in favour of them, say that modernity has caused people to be more lonely, and despite of more connectivity between people, there are less meaningful relationships among the members of the society. Modern technologies such as internet and telephone has made us to be able to contact our friends or relatives in tremendously easier and sooner ways compared to telegraph or mail or other traditional ways. However, this doesn’t mean that we have became more social than the past. The ability to preserve or make numerous friendships is stopping us from having deep and highly personal relationships. There is also the problem of poor classes and societies. Most of new technologies are used in developed countries. It takes years or even centuries for these countries to be able to adopt these new technologies. For example, compare the percentage of people in African countries using social medias to the counterparts in North America. In conclusion, there is a long way until we can say that all the people on the erath have the same ability to use technologies, and it’s nonsense to talk about socialization before that. However, even after that ideal situation, there is the problem of modernity and it’s issues which makes us doubtful to say that we are more social than the past. ** Mohammad Hossein Ghotbi ** Academic IELTS**