There are many different types of music in the world today. Why do we need music? Is the traditional music of a country more important than the International music that is heard everywhere nowadays?

Over the years, music has developed quite a lot in terms of there being a wide variety of genres of music at our disposal today. This essay will discuss why music is important in our lives as well as argue why traditional music of a country should not be over shadowed by the range of international music that is prevalant everywhere today. One of the key reasons music was ever developed was to provide a sense of escape to people from whatever they are currently doing. Whether, you are working on an important presentation at work, or at the school library preparing for an upcoming test, or simply going out for your morning workout, we all tend to listen to music at some point. At work, for instance, listening to music can help us concentrate better. During workouts, music provides a stimulating sensation that keeps us going. Therefore, we all do need music in our daily lives in some form or the other. However, with abundance of international music present everywhere today, sometimes we tend to overlook our own traditional music that we grew up listening to. Traditional music is like the heart and soul of a nation. It has been present since the time our ancestors walked the earth and it is rich with history and culture. Many tourists, for instance, when visiting a new country are always attracted to the listen to the local music of that place as it is culturally pleasing. Local music offers a form of unique identity to any nation that international music can never provide. While music definetly has an important role in everyone's lives in some form or the other, I strongly believe that traditional music should not be overshadowed by the international music in todays world. This essay has discussed the importance of having music in our lives and while international music does provide entertainment, traditional music is far more important as it constitutes the heritage of a nation.