There are many different types of music in the world today. Why do we needmusic? Is the traditional music of a country more important than theInternational music that is heard everywhere nowadays?

Kinds of music people listen nowadays are of different tastes and types. For instance, modern international pop and rap music, as well as classical traditional country songs all, vary from each other and people listen to them with great interests. This is because music has been part of our daily lives even in the ancient times. In this essay, reasons on why music is necessary for every Filipino people and the importance of the Philippine traditional folk music over foreign songs that young Filipinos and Filipinas always hear will be discussed. Music is a vital part of every Filipinos' lives. Firstly, Philippine folks considered it to be one of the most popular and ancient modes of human expressions. It features largely in all histories and all cultures and indeed has been one of the main ways of passing on cultural traditions to new generations of the country. Secondly, because of this, many people view music as a positive influence for the societies. This influence on individuals is wholly beneficial as it is a long-established way of communicating and helping us understand the whole range of human emotion and experience in a more spiritual language than words can represent. However, the classical music traditions of the Philippines are not necessarily part of the music many Filipinos and Filipinas experience today. In the modern world today, most of the country's young people constantly exposed themselves to loud modern foreign songs as a result of globalisation via the Internet. But I think that it is more important for young people of the country to learn traditional music to enable them to know the origins of our Philippine ancestors. In conclusion, I think that we need traditional music because it is an integral part of the human expression that we cannot really separate from our lives even if there are the various evolution of modern music we tend to listen every day through the web nowadays such as American rap songs and Korean pop music.