There are many different types of music in the world today. Why do we need music? Is the traditional music of a country more important than the International music that is heard everywhere nowadays?

Nowadays, there are a variety of genres of music in the world. Since times immemorial, this is considered to be a major source of communication around the globe. Though the traditional music of any nation has its own roots and values, the international music is more appealing to the youth and is popular worldwide. There is a language barrier, around the continents which hinders communication. In those instances, music comes to the rescue. From Bach to Taylor Swift, the musicians, composers played a significant role in creating a language that is understood worldwide. The music, in its all glory, mends broken hearts, brings solace to the soul and connects people throughout-barring community, ethnicity, religion. In addition, sends a strong message to the society. Traditional music is developed over the ages. It conveys the nation's legends, stories in the most conventional ways. Although, it is a reflection of our culture, ancestral values, it fails to connect people all over the world, as it lacks the bling that the young population so desire. A survey done in 2017, by Kiran et al. concluded that the new generation had a bend towards the international pop music and were not very keen on listening or learning the traditional music. International music, on the other hand, is more interesting as it wraps up the global message as well as the digital beats together for the people to enjoy. Right from woman empowering musicals by Katy Perry to the Xavier's compositions on LGBTQ rights, International music is spreading a strong message and bringing the world together on these issues. Is it not then right to say that the music is helping in making a better tomorrow? In conclusion, even though the traditional music is to be respected for its origins and sense of belonging to the country, it is the international music which has come leaps and bounds to better the nation.