There are five categories of ratios used in financial statement analysis. These are: (1) liquidity ratios

There are five categories of ratios used in financial statement analysis. These are: (1) liquidity ratios, which measure a firm’s ability to meet cash needs as they arise; (2) activity ratios, which measure the liquidity of specific assets and the efficiency of managing assets; (3) leverage ratios, which measure the extent of a firm’s financing with debt relative to equity and its ability to cover interest and other fixed charges; (4) profitability ratios, which measure the overall performance of a firm and its efficiency in managing assets, liabilities, and equity (Fraser & Ormiston, 2004); and (5) market value ratios, which bring in the stock price and give an idea of what investors think about the firm and its future prospects (Brigham & Houston, 2009). The liquidity ratios measure the university’s ability to meet its debt obligations using its current assets. When a business is experiencing financial difficulties and is unable to pay its debts, it can convert its assets into cash and use the money to settle any pending debts with more ease. The current ratio is a commonly used measure of short-run solvency, the ability of the firm to meet its debt requirements as they come due. Current liabilities are used as the denominator of the ratio because they are considered to represent the most urgent debts, requiring retirement within one year or one operating cycle. The available cash resources to satisfy these obligations must come primarily from cash or the conversion to cash of other current assets (Fraser & Ormiston, 2004). The quick or acid-test ratio is a more rigorous test of short-run solvency than the current ratio because the numerator eliminates inventory, considered the least liquid current asset and the most likely source of losses (Fraser & Ormiston, 2004). The percentage changes in these two specific ratios from 2018 to 2020 were decreased of –29. 00% and –31. 00% respectively, meaning the university was unable to generate enough cash and struggle with paying debts.