The world’s natural resources, such as oil, forests and fresh water are being consumed at an ever-increasing rate. What are the dangers of the situation? What can be done to solve the problem?

With the ever increasing population in the world and rapid industrial growth, we are facing a thorny issue in these days and the time has come for us to address it properly in order to ensure our very existence. The consumption of oil, trees and fresh water is ever growing and though those resources are quite limited and non-renewable in many cases, we have taken very few steps to prevent the overuse of those invaluable resources. As a result, catastrophic outcomes are obvious and we should take every possible measure to solve these problems. First, reservation of oil and fresh water is not limitless and over consumption of these two resources will cause scarcity of natural resources. When the oil reservation will go down, nations will fight over it and factories, machines and cars will be useless without oil. Moreover, the overuse of oil causes uncontrollable air pollution and catastrophic effects like, the global warming and climate change which threaten our very existence on the earth. Fresh water is another big area of concern as it is a critical issue for the living organism and less than 3% water reservation on the earth is fresh water. Freshwater resources are depleting fast and this will cause our living on the earth impossible. Undoubtedly deforestation is the reason many species are becoming extinct and our environment is getting polluted. As most countries are trying to improve their economic conditions through industrialisation, we are imposing an unbearable burden to the natural ecosystem by consuming importation natural resources. This increasing rate of natural resources consumption causes scarcity of natural resources, burdens to the ecosystem, air pollution, water pollution, soil erosion, natural unbalance, extinction of many species, water contamination, an outbreak of diseases and finally threaten our existence. All nations and every individual should put their best effort to combat this problem. It is a global issue and hence should be addressed globally. Moreover, every government should ensure adequate legislations and strict laws to prevent the over-consumption of important natural resources. Factories, mills and industries should not be allowed to contaminate waters and should be severely fined if found guilty. Ownership of cars should be restricted and prices of oil should be increased. Strict monitoring of logging activity should be in place and plantation of trees should be encouraged. Along with government’s initiatives, individual effort to address this problem should also be in place. We should use water conservatively and use our car less. Gardening and plantation should be a mandatory part of building a new house. The individual effort on saving our planet and future generation will play a key role in addressing these problems. Finally, more research works are required to introduce better water recycling machines, eco-friendly vehicles and alternative sources of energy. In conclusion, I would reiterate that important natural resources like water, oil, trees should not be exploited and individual and government initiatives can reduce the problems caused by it to a great extent. If we fail to do that, the consequence would be too severe to control.