Some people say that Ebooks and modern technology will totally replace traditional newspaper and magazines

Today’s world is a world of technology and everything around us is getting digital. No wonder people have started to think that in no time modern technology and ebooks will fully take place of the traditional reading methods such as from a newspaper or a magazine. This essay will argue why despite of the immense benefits of the conventional forms of reading, the new digital forms taking over will be much more advantageous. Some people have pointed out that routine newspaper and magazine reading will soon be taken over completely by the advanced digital era technology and ebooks. The biggest reason of the same is the current requirement of our society to go green. The government in almost all the countries is coming forward and taking an initiative to save the trees which are being cut in a huge number in order to make more and more paper. Not only the electronic modes of reading and studying shall serve the purpose by reducing the production of paper by a humongous amount but will save a lot of time for people along with helping them to increase their reading habit as in just one click on their phones they can read the news of around the world whether they are travelling in a metro or taking a short tea break. For instance, if a person gets only 20 minutes free after a meeting in his office, it is much easier to just take the phone out and go through a couple of pages while walking or sitting idle instead of making sure that he always carries a book or a newspaper wherever he goes. So most people these days prefer online sources rather than opting for the hard copied subscriptions. There are some other people who believe that despite the environmental as well as handy benefits provided by the upcoming technologies, the standard methods of gaining knowledge or learning through a DailyTimes or a Forbes can never be totally replaced. It is considered that reading from a newspaper or a magazine needs much more concentration than reading from an online source as most people take a separate time out to read and are focused completely only on the paper at that moment and hence are less distracted which can help understand a situation better and give time to think over an idea even and create an opinion about it. Additionally, it is considered that more the concentration, better the retention power. A research paper published in India, mentioned a survey which showed that the vocabulary of the people who learnt the words from an English newspaper was far better than people who read only through modern resources. That is why usual reading and learning techniques are superior to the advanced electronic sources of information. To summerize, this essay argues that modern technology or ebooks may completely put back traditional ways of reading even if they were better methods of learning. I completely agree to the idea as it is the people who have to take an initiative and cope up with the upcoming era of advanced technology which can help us save our time, improve our reading habits even in an extremely busy schedule and on top of it help us save trees that in a longer run can save our planet.