The world would be a much poorer place without colour. To what extent would you agree or disagree

Colors play a very important role in our lives. I certainly agree with the notion that world would be a much poorer and boring place without color. In following paragraphs, I would put forth some points to support my opinion. Colors depict liveliness in every object living or non-living. Take an example of any art piece – a painting or rangoli. Colors in the painting give a multi-dimensional effect to it and make it lively. Even a flower vase in a living room makes our sitting areas more pleasant and refreshes our mind and souls. Moreover, nature also reflects its seasonal changes through colors. The leaves become yellow and dry at the onset of summer whereas on the contrary they become green at the onset of monsoon season. The rainbow that is formed during the rainy season and the colorful butterflies that we see in our gardens is the testimony that our nature is enriched with hues that cannot escape from a human eye. All these visual effects would have gone unnoticed had there been no change of colors in the surroundings. In India, people celebrate Holi as festival of colors. The sole intent of this festival is to create awareness that a human being’s life should be as colorful as these colors. The colors symbolize the different shades, phases of our lives and celebrating them implies to enjoy every phase with equal importance in our life. Indians know the significance of colors and believe that every color has a different meaning. For example, green is considered to be color of prosperity, white the color of peace, purity, calm, red the color of vibrancy, festivity and so on. Colors also hold its importance in different human rituals across the globe. For example, in some religion black is worn at funerals and white is the color worn during weddings. Thus, even our forefathers believed in the fact that colors reflect our mindsets and that they should be associated with life changing events. To put it in a nutshell, all these situations vividly explain how colors impact our psychological well-being and make the world a beautiful place to exist. It would be very depressing to imagine a monochromatic life otherwise in absence of colors.