The way people dress is a good indication of his or her personality or character.

Human as a social being has always been in interaction with other people. Owing to the importance of human interactions for a flourishing social life and invigorating mental health, people try to keep in touch with each other. However, finding a good friend to shape a time-honoured friendship is an arduous and time-consuming process. To simply this process, people resort to some clues to have a quick evaluation of people’s character. Unsurprisingly, individual’s appearance or the way they dress is a prevalent criterion in this regard. Having said that, I am totally in disagreement with this statement that we can judge people’s personality by their dressings. In what follows, I will articulate my reasoning behind this position. First of all, nowadays dressing is more or less associated with people’s financial capabilities. It is crystal clear that if they encounter financial difficulty, they will have less money to spend for their apparel and give precedence to other needs such as education or health. In fact, enjoying a good and stable financial position is a sine qua non of spending money for dressing or paying delicate attention to the appearance. For example, for a mother the priority of family budget goes to the children’s health and education. Thus she may not bear to spend money for her own dressing. Secondly, our purchases are heavily dependent on the availability of goods in the market. If there is not enough variety in the market, our options will be considerably limited. For example, in some countries because of international sanctions or religious rules some brands are banned, consequently people cannot freely choose the brands or the modes that they prefer. Thus, it is a convincing reason in this situation what people dress is not an indicator of their preferences to let us judge them by their preference. To put it in a nutshell, there are some limitations which hugely impacts the way people dress, as a result, what they dress is not necessarily their own decision. As such, we must be caution to impute people’s clothes to their personality. Although there can be some links between personality and dressing, I strongly believe there is no compelling evidence in this regard and we would be better off forgetting about this weak relation.