The valuable lessons from Coronavirus in Korea reaction

Starting in late February, South Korea was reporting a sharp increase in coronavirus cases. While cases in most other countries continued to rise, Korea’s numbers started leveling off. Altogether, the virus infected 186 people and killed 38 in South Korea. In the following weeks, as the outbreak started spreading across the world, South Korea only had 30 confirmed cases of the virus. But despite the low numbers, health authorities had already started working with biotech companies to develop a test for the novel coronavirus. By late February, the total number of coronavirus cases rose dramatically, crossing 3000. This made South Korea's outbreak the largest outside of mainland China. Because the government had already equipped hospitals with coronavirus tests, doctors were able to test her. . It’s an approach that allowed Korea to test over 9, 000 people who had been in contact with someone who had tested positive. After Daegu, Korea ramped up testing around the country. After the MERS outbreak, when they weren’t able to trace the movements of the virus, Korea changed the law allowing the government to collect a patient’s data and security footage during an outbreak. Tracing people's every move can be controversial but many in South Korea prioritize public health over privacy in an outbreak. As a result, South Korea was able to test hundreds of thousands of people, more than any other country at the time. This ability to find and treat infected people has allowed Korea to avoid aggressive lockdowns. For now, Korea has turned a corner, but they continue to be prepared. It's that kind of vigilance that has set Korea apart in the coronavirus pandemic. But it wasn’t the only place to test people aggressively. Now countries like Germany and the UK are starting to implement aggressive testing. We know that we have to do more and we continue to accelerate in testing. Korea's strategy of contact tracing might not be easy to replicate in countries with much larger populations.