Should the government fund art? or it is just waiting money that could be better spent elsewhere?

One of the key roles of the government is managing the money which it gets via imposing different taxes on the population. There is a lot of debate about how this money should be managed and what it should be spent on. Some people argue that arts should not be the sphere of concern of the government; therefore, it does not need to be spending that much money on that sphere. However, I do not fully agree with this statement. In my opinion, funding of arts is one of the better alternatives and that is why. Firstly, the question depends on what other spheres the government will direct the spare money on. Many governments prefer spending the saved money on other spheres that are much less useful than arts. Typically, cutting expenses on such spheres as art means that the government will increase the finance of military or police departments. The closest example I can come up with is my own country, Russia. The government has seriously decreased the amount of money allocated to arts and education. Instead, it is now focusing on financing different army-related spheres which has resulted in decreasing of the quality of life in the country. Secondly, the sums of money assigned to arts, especially in the development countries, usually make up to a few percent of a country’s GDP. That means that redistributing it to other spheres would not make much difference. It also means that spending even less money on the art would be the same as if that country officially announced that it did not care about cultural development of its nation. Often such policies do not do any good to flourishing of the people. All in all, I cannot support the point of view of the people who suggest spending less money on cultural spheres such as arts. Music, painting and other creative embodiment of culture are among the most influential things that has made us what we are today. That is why governments should not underestimate this sphere of life