The Great Pacific Garbage Patch is an environmental disaster caused by the use of plastic. Why should we do something about the plastic in our oceans? What can be done?

For many years, plastic has been entering the oceans, leading to major environmental damage and the creation of what has become known as ‘The Great Pacific Garbage Patch’. This essay will discuss why humanity must deal with this problem and some actions that can be taken to remedy the issue. Humanity must find a solution because of the severe ramifications of leaving plastic in our oceans. Over time, plastic breaks down into smaller and smaller particles, which results in this dangerous material entering the food chain and ultimately being consumed by humans. It is well known that plastic is a toxic substance and when eaten can cause cancer and other harmful effects. Furthermore, if people are at all concerned with the well-being of marine life, they will take action. Innumerable numbers of sea life and coastal birds are killed due to the careless disregard people have toward their disposal of plastic. With the responsibility of cleaning the oceans in mind, it is good to know that there are solutions to this problem. The first step is prevention. By limiting the amount of plastic we use and being mindful of how we dispose of plastic waste, the increase in the size of this problem will be reduced. The second step is to find a cure, or in other words, ways to start removing the plastic from our oceans. The most realistic solution has been proposed by a young Dutch scientist, Boyan Slat, who is working on a project that uses ocean currents to collect and remove plastic waste. It seems that funding this project and others of a similar nature is the only foreseeable way of removing plastic forever. In conclusion, humanity must take action because ignoring the problem will continue to make the situation worse, and by being more careful about how we dispose of plastic and through investing in effective projects, the oceans can once again be plastic-free. #IELTS_essays