Fewer and fewer people appreciate art and turn their focus to science, technology, business. Why? What can be done to take their interest back to arts?

Having been considered an essential part of human culture for a long period of time, art does not frequently get proper attention from young people nowadays. In the pursuit of acknowledgement and status in modern society many people tend to choose such spheres as technology, business, science, forgetting about the importance of arts. What are the underlying causes of this and what could be done to remind about the significance of art? The main reason art has become “redundant” in recent years is the change of paradigm in our society. Being told since the yearly years about the importance of getting a well-paid and solid job, young people do not take such cultural sphere as art seriously. They do not believe that it can bring them money and stability fast enough. Indeed, hearing the saying that “artist must be starving” does not create a picture of a bright future in most of them. Another reason is inextricably intertwined with the attitude towards the people of art. Many people suppose that creative subjects and jobs are childish and somehow inferior to the standardized pool of jobs such as an entrepreneur or a scientist. The people from those spheres are seen to be in a way complacent to the people of art. So, the two most important reasons that art has become less appreciated in recent years, in my opinion, are connected with money and status; therefore, the key point to bring this sphere back its significance is to reassure people that committing to cultural jobs, especially if they are fond of one them, is actually worth the efforts. Crucial here is to give them vivid examples. There are plenty of people who have become rich, and famous, and joyful due to doing art. To conclude, there are indeed an inclination towards such spheres as science, business and technology. It does not mean that its right and cannot be changed. If we start promoting the values that art brings to us, we will surely see an increase in number of people interested in this sphere again.