The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Socializing on media platforms is becoming more and more preferable way of communication compared to live forms of interaction. This essay will argue the benefits of a live communication forms over social media, as face-to face communication enables individuals to solve problems more effectively as well as to experience the real sense of connectedness. Online communication among people has a number of key advantages. First of all, the usage of social media erases any territorial borders and time limitations. Communication by digital devices assists people to connect online by video calls or messaging from any part of the world without the necessity to travel by means of transport in order to see the individual personally. For example social media platforms such as Facebook, Instagram help people not only to display their lives and views through posting pictures, videos, but also to broaden their circle of friends and befriend anyone around the world. Secondly, online communication provides people with the place when they are not required to deal with their private uncomfortable feelings such as vulnerability, insecurity, awkwardness and others. For example, individuals on social media feel less offended by others in case of conflicts or misunderstanding. One commonly cited disadvantage of an interaction on social media is that it prevents people from experiencing authentic connection. Interaction with others online can create an illusion of being in relationship with someone, while in real life they suffer from loneliness. For example, couples who spend more time dating online rather than face-to face are more likely to separate due to the clash of images they created while communicating on social media. In conclusion, although there advantages of communicating on social media platforms, it is clear that face-to-face interaction contributes to people’s mental health by providing the sense of bonding with others. I would argue that social media type of communication can be a good option for replacing real life socialization.