The things that are important to animals can be different than those that matter to humans.

It is no secret that humans are smart mammals. The world today has over 7. 4 billion people who are constantly thinking, discussing, building, and creating. The contributions that humans have made over their relatively short existence on this planet are impressive. This leads us to the question: are humans the only smart mammals? Cognition is arguably one of the most difficult subjects to observe, document, and study. In studies on human cognition, researchers must rely on the test subject to be truthful and must trust that the test subject is in the proper state of mind to respond well to the study. But what of animal cognition? Researchers have no form of verbal communication to confirm ideas, thoughts, and feelings with their animal test subjects. Human cognition, on its own, is one of the most widely mysterious fields that one can study. Animal cognition is, thus, even harder and more complex to study, document, and theorize about. With no verbal communication with the test subject, researchers must rely on behavioral patterns and the animal’s own language to try to determine what is going on inside the animal’s head. In regards to animal cognition, memory, and behavioral study, one must first look at animal cognition as a whole. It is mysterious—hard to study and define. We know that animals can think, but we don’t know what or how they think. Many animals display behaviors similar to our. From social learning it is logical to assume that, since animals are able to both acquire and use new behaviours, they must be intelligent in some way. Heyes stated that there are 6 types of behaviour which suggest intelligence. These are imitation, self-recognition, social relationship formation, role-taking, deception and perspective taking. These 6 behaviours are referred to as the theory of mind. The things that are important to animals can be different than those that matter to humans. When studying animals, we must test them in situations that have meaning for their lives, not ours, and not just look to see how much they resemble us.