The disadvantage of social media

Although social networking platforms bring a lot of benefits to users, it also has many implicit dangers that people can hardly anticipate. One of them is disinformation, which is posted and shared on social media deliberately to deceive public judgment. Most people don’t usually lookup the fact about the information being given to them; consequently, news from unreliable sources is shared by users on social networks by accident or purposely. And recently, the outbreak of COVID-19 has made the problem of fake news more risky than ever with titles like ” China vaccine doesn’t work” or “China sold us bad vaccines”. The second invisible danger is crowd mentality, when people adjust their activities to fit in with the majority without knowing anything or having limited information. Online bullying might be the most infamous example of crowd mentality; in 2021, a 13 years aged Vietnamese student suicide by drinking pesticides after being online bullied by classmates for more than a year. The saddest part was most of the students don’t know the reason for those comments, they did it because their friends were doing it.