the sale of junk food in school cafeterias should be stopped

Most people like junk food. It is considered as a popular choice whenever we want to eat some delicious things. Pizza, soda, hamburger or fried chicken are replacing the nutritious foods on our menu, including the school cafeteria menu. Students have consumed a lot of junk food through school canteens or vending machines. Personally, I totally agree that the sale of junk food in school cafeterias should be stopped to encourage better eating habits. Junk food is bad for our health and is related to many health problems. Most of the junk foods are low in nutritional value but high in fat and sugar that directly contribute to the obesity of students. Diabetes can also be caused by over consumption of junk food. Because of the high volume of sugar, junk food makes our bodies stop producing adequate insulin that is an important chemical for controlling blood sugar levels. This will lead to Type 2 diabetes which is considered as a common reason for death in modern life. Eating junk food affects bone and dental health. Growing students need a dramatic amount of calcium for the development of bone and teeth, so foods lacking calcium but reduntanting sugar like junk food should be replaced with more nutritious options. Another aspect of health problems resulting from junk food is student’s behavior. Chemical additives making colors and flavors for food are usually used over quantity to stimulate student’s tastes. They also lead to behavioural problems such as hyperactivity and poor concentration in students. Besides that, junk food can result in a decrease in brain activity. These toxic additives and preservatives have bad effects on thinking and cognition. Students cannot healthily grow or develop their studying potential with junk food over consumption. Schools should replace junk food with other better choices to make sure that their students will have the most nutritious meals. In addition, waste is an issue that will be partly solved by the limitation of junk food in schools. Its packaging is a significant contributor to the trash problem that increases the expense of cleaning up litter at school and creates negative images in public places. The majority of fast food is packaged in plastic packaging that must be discarded after use. Unfortunately, many irresponsible students throw away this packaging in areas other than rubbish bins. As a result, in order to reduce trash, the selling of junk food in school canteens should be prohibited. People say that junk food has some benefits such as being delicious, cheap, convenient, and the nutrients in them are improving. However, these positive aspects cannot be compared to a lot of disadvantages that junk food brings to students such as obesity or overactivity. Their health is always the most important thing. Instead of using this kind of food, schools should improve their student’s meals, which must be both nutritious and delicious. In conclusion, although junk food is a preferable source of food, it needs to be stopped from being served in school cafeterias because of a lot of drawbacks. The sale of junk food gives bad impacts on the health and behavior of students and creates more litter in schools. They still have appetizing and health-giving meals without junk food.