childrens today spend more time watching tv to pass time describe advantages and disavantages

Due to advancement in technology, modes of entertainment have changed a lot over past decades. Children these days spend most of their time in front of screen which was not the same earlier. This has both merits and demerits of its own are explained further in this essay. Viewing television acknowledges a child with ample amount of resources from where they can fetch information. The concept of global village is fascinating where one can get to know what is happening in other country or state by scrolling through various channels. Television channels such as Animal Planet and Discovery provide vast information about existing biodiversity and modern day science. Moreover, it has been observed that watching cartoons, has helped a child develop language faster than others as while consuming content they even grasp vocabulary of the language spoken. However its drawbacks are very well known by us. Sitting in front of television for long hours is addictive. A child may loose interest in outdoor activities and become lazy. Since the invention of television, rise is seen in the number of obese patients between the age group of 11 to 19. Along with this it is frequent for a child to complain regarding burning eyes and headache caused due to long hours in front of screen. The content which is telecasted is not for a child only thus one needs to keep eye constantly regarding it. To conclude, watching television with proper parental guidance and with time limit can be fruitful for a child. Likewise, opposite of it can affect both mental and physical wellbeing.