The rising levels of congestion and air pollution found in most of the world cities can be attributed directly to the rapidly increasing number of private cars in use. To reverse this decline in the quality of life in cities, attempts must be made to encourage people to use their cars less and public transport more. Discuss possible ways to encourage the use of public transport.

There are many arguments about increasing number of cars and it`s impact on environment. And solving the negative impacts can never be forgotten in any discussions related to environmental issues. Some people believe that is no way it will be solved since selling the car and purchasing are unavoidable. However I think there are plenty of ways to tackle the situation. One possible way would be to encourage buying only one car for one family by government. Rich families nowadays are trying to have one car for every family member. Sometimes I feel it is not necessary to have a car for every single of them as some of them are students and can use public transports. There are unavoidable things such as if the family has the disable person and both parents are working, maybe having two car comfortable to take him to school or hospitals as it is required from time to time. Spending money on assets like houses and lands rather than buying cars will sometimes bring some extra money as those can be rented and could be used for some of the family expenses. Another approach would be, opening the health centres in all areas of the country designed to do training for people and advising to utilise bicycles or benefits of walking for short distances. It is true we might think people do in the way they think. However showing them the evidence of people are dying from obesity or some types of decease by doing presentations will ring the bell. Although convincing 10-20 per cent of people, it will hugely contribute to the environment positively, as well as it will lead to the healthy lifestyle of people. Overall, although some people think preventing car selling or decreasing is impossible it should not stop from taking action and give suggestions. Indeed there are some ways to overcome this situation by either making new laws or making people conscious about the side effects of having a car.