The relocation of businesses to rural areas

In recent years, the issue of transportation and accommodation in urban areas have been on the constant rise on account of the rapidly rising population. Therefore, the authorities are encouraging companies to relocate to countryside regions. As far as I am concerned, despite a few drawbacks, the merits of this policy are far weightier. On the one hand, there are a few demerits when it comes to the relocation of conglomerates to rural areas. First and foremost, this action would leave a number of city-based employees on the verge of unemployment unless they accept to travel long distances to work. This could lead to a major deterioration in their physical health as well as their mental health. Furthermore, even if they do accept, there is still one more drawback to ponder about/take into consideration/into account. As the number of urban-rural commuters grows significantly, the city’s public transport networks may get overwhelmed. Notwithstanding the aforementioned downsides, I am firmly of the opinion that the perks of this policy far eclipse the disadvantages. As rural-based employees do not have to seek accommodation in cities anymore, the current shortages of housing in downtown areas should be substantially ameliorated. With respect to traffic, since rural-based workers no longer have to commute from their towns to the cities, the traffic flow into the metropolises will be drastically reduced, leading to the decline of traffic congestion in these areas. Last but not least, the localities where those large companies are resituated could reap various benefits from this policy since they receive more investments in improving infrastructures, more job opportunities for people living in underdeveloped areas throughout the country are created, which, ultimately, helps these regions flourish financially. All the aforementioned points provide a compelling argument in favor of an urban-rural business relocation policy, in spite of some potential drawbacks.