The pros and cons of solar energy

Nowadays, existence of human being is threatened by a serious environmental cause known as global warming. The causes of global warming are multifactorial, but one of the most serious reasons is the energy that people use day by day. The adverse environmental effects from fossil fuels and their depletion through time push the world to consider sustainable and environmentally friendly forms of energy sources, especially solar energy. Various countries across the world have started using solar power for domestic purpose because it is the most abundant renewable resource of energy. Although solar energy is eco-friendly and inexhaustible, it does have a few drawbacks. Let’s begin by looking at the remarkable benefits that solar energy has brought to our life. One of the main positives of using solar power is that solar can reduce carbon emissions. Unlike traditional fossil fuels like coal and oil, solar energy does not lead directly to pollutants like carbon dioxide being released into the atmosphere and water supply since it does not involve the combustion of fuels. Also, solar energy is versatile as it can be used for diverse purposes. It can be used to generate electricity or heat. Another advantage is its abundant availability, especially in tropical countries. In other words, sun is a natural source of heat and hence there is no danger of depletion. Neverthless, solar energy has its own limitation which restrict its widespread usage. The main drawback is that the solar panel are quite expensive and can not be affordable for people from low income groups. Another aspect of using the solar energy is the efficiency of the solar system drops during cloudy and rainy days. Solar panels are dependent on sunlight to effectively gather solar energy. Therefore, a few cloudy, rainy days can have a noticeable effect on the energy system. In conclusion, there is no energy source that is completely risk-free. However, the pros of solar energy as a renewable energy source outweigh the cons. I hope that further development of green technology will soon eliminate the disadvantages.