The possibility to telecommute, or work from home, is seen as highly desirable by many employees, yet in recent years some big multinational companies have cancelled their telecommuting schemes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of telecommuting policy from perspective of the employer.

Nowadays, working from home has been increasing globally due to many changes at work environment. Although many employees find it more convenient for them to work from home, a lot of employers find it hard to work toward common goals and to compete at the national market without having all the employees working together. This essay will discuss the employer’s advantages from employees telecommute and rather will emphasize the importance of work environment with could impact the employees. Firstly, there are several reasons why telecommuting is good for employers and the most important one is reducing the expenses. In other words, many companies spend a lot to afford a good work environment, such as large spaces, many social activities, and offices decorations and gadgets. Furthermore, companies do not have to pay for employee’s sick leave or public holidays. As a result, companies do not need to invest in buildings but rather could have a small apartment to represent their office. On the other hand, however, with the financial benefits of remote working, employers have found it is hard to compete in the national market without having employees working together. By this I mean, the importance of work environment to gather employees toward common goals is far more important than any financial savings from employees being work from home. Despite any other tools for remote working like Zoom, or Google meeting, face to face communication between employees has the maximum efficacy in supporting team working and promoting for better project improvements. It seems that teams can struggle to work effectively if they always work remotely. To sum up, despite the clear financial benefit for companies from employees being work remotely, team communication has overcome the financial advantages. Therefore, I believe that employers need to focus on how to maximize innovations and informal interaction in remote working context to ensure they can continue to cut costs and continue to offer opportunities for people to work from home.