The popularity of sugar-based beverages has become more popular among many people.

The popularity of sugar-based beverages has become more popular among many people. This is a serious issue because it affects people’s health. This essay will consider the main causes of sweet drinks, before proposing two possible solutions. Perhaps the most important reason of taking drinks with high level of sugar is the habit. Many people prefer to eat sweet drinks from the childhood to remain happy. As a result, people give continuity to such drinks. Another key factor is that it provides more energy. The majority of young people use sweet beverages to be more energetic with high level of sugar substances contained in the drink. For instance, Redbull is one of the popular energetic drinks preferred by many youngsters to remain energetic for the day with lots of pressure either in study or workplace. Fortunately, however, there are two promising solutions to this problem. Firstly, local government should launch various health awareness programs related with consuming high level sugar drinks in a regular basis. This would help citizens to be more aware of their health and reduce the consumption of such beverages. Secondly, more drinks with no sugar which have same level of sweetness should be introduced in the market, which would give similar satisfaction to consumer with better health. According to the ABC Fitness Magazine, published in 2018, the purchase of Coke Zero with no sugar in comparison to Coke has been increased by 25% because of health conscious. Conclusively, taking too many sugar-based beverages is a serious problem which is primarily caused by childhood habit, along with getting more energy. I recommend that government should effectively regulate sugar-based drinks, and introduce more drinks with no sugar substances.